Andrew Yang & President Barack Obama

Meet Andrew

Andrew Yang Keynotes 2020

各位好,我是杨安泽,正在争取2020年民主党总统初选提名。我这样做是因为我对我们国家的未来充满了忧虑。新的科学技术 – 机器人,软件,人工智能 – 已经在美国消灭了超过400万个就业机会,在可以预见的五到十年中,这种发展趋势会继续消灭成百上千个工作机会。美国劳动力市场将近三分之一的工作都可能被新的科技发展所取代。更糟糕的是,这些工作是永远不会回来的。

毋庸置疑,我不是一个职业政治家 ,而是一个企业家,这也决定了我看经济问题的角度。对于我和我的同行们,和那些极希望为国家创造尽可能多的就业机会的企业家们来说,我们的国家需要有一个前所未有的改变,这改变应该马上发生,不能再等。但是现行的政治体制受到各种制约无法让这种改变来的更快步伐更大。所以我如果能当选总统,我的优先任务是要落实全民基本收入:让18岁到64岁的美国公民每月每人都能没有任何附加条件的收到来自政府的$1000。这个国策应当建立在一个新的征税政策上:这费用应该要求那些从自动化过程中得到最大利益的科技公司均摊。全民基本收入仅仅是这个改变的开始。我们正在经历这个时代的最严重的危机:如果我们不能团结一致阻止这个危机的继续发生,我们将会冒着失去国民信心的危险。危机前所未有。

我1975年出生于纽约州的一个小镇。我的父母都是60年代台湾来美的移民,他们是在念研究生时相识的。我父亲一生为IBM工作并拥有69个专利,母亲是当地大学的一位行政管理人员。我哥哥和我都是很传统的读书人。和我们的父母一样,我们在成长的过程中始终坚信美国梦对于每一个努力的公民来说都可以变成现实。

Andrew-Yang-Family

我毕业于布朗大学,主修经济与政治科学,之后进入哥大法学院,取得了律师资格。哥大毕业后我先当了很短时间的公司法律师,但是很快发现这不是我的兴趣所在。后来我去开了一家小型网络公司,但没有成功。之后又进入了一家才起步的健保服务公司,在那里我学到了如何跟有经验的企业家一起创建新的公司。我30多岁时营运了一家全国连锁的教育机构后来成长为同类公司的龙头企业。在那儿我还遇到了我的妻子艾芙琳, 我们结婚了。我的教育机构后来被收购了。在我妻子的支持下,我决定带着卖掉公司的盈利为那些在金融危机下受到重创的城市创造工作机会。我当时的理解是企业家们能够为为经济的增长创造就业,所以我创建了“为美国创业”(Venture for America)。这是一个让企业家们帮助二线城市创造就业机会的平台, 这些城市包括巴尔的摩,底特律,匹斯堡和克利夫兰等等。

“为美国创业” 得到了很多人的共鸣,因为这是一个不争的事实:自动化的产生消灭了很多工作,让许多地区变得衰败和没有活力。 在那几年里,我一直以为让企业家们创造更多的工作是问题的解决方式。我们应该做的是在正确的地方培养新一代的企业家,让他们为当地经济创造更多的就业机会。用这种方式我们就可以阻止日益下行的美国经济和随之而来的工资差距,贫困,失业和无望。“为美国创业” 的确为美国创造了成百上千的就业机会,而且目前还在全美继续做着令人惊叹的工作。但是一路走来,我们也很清楚地看到,我们所能创造的新工作的数量远远不能取代被自动化消灭了的工作数量。我们不得不面对的现实是那些人人有工作的日子不会再回来了。

当明白了问题的严重性以后,特别是当我明白即使是那些最有前瞻性的政治家们对这个问题都不可能站出来采取必要行动去阻挡这一趋势的时候,我知道我必须站出来做点儿什么。我自己有两个年幼的儿子。我坚信儿子们长大的环境会和我的完全不同。希望有一天回首往事时我能告诉自己我已经在我权利之内做了力所能及的一切去确保儿子们有一个他们应该享有的美国- 一个充满机会,自由,平等权利和物质极大丰富的美国。

为此我诚恳地邀请你们加入我的竞选。因为在这个世界上没有别人会为我们建设一个更好的国家。我们需要一起来做这件事。

谢谢阅读。

— 杨安泽

AndrewYang Signature 2018

来认识 杨安泽

简介

杨安泽是一位企业家和作家。他即将以民主党人身份参加2020美国总统大选。在2011年他成立了为美国创业(Venture for America)并在过去的6年中为美国众多城市(如克利夫兰、底特律、巴尔的摩、匹兹堡等)创造了就业机会。当杨安泽意识到人工智能等新兴科技会威胁美国三分之一人口的就业时,他决心着手解决这一问题。在著作The War on Normal People (2018)中, 他解释了这一不断恶化的危机并提出了全民基本收入政策——为18岁至64岁的所有美国公民提供每月1000美元的基本生活保障金。

 

早期生活

Andrew-Yang-Family

杨安泽1975年出生于纽约上州。他的父母是60年代来自台湾的早期移民,两人在加州大学伯克莱当研究院生时相识。他的父亲是位研究员,曽就职于IBM和GE并贡献过多达69项发明专利。而他的母亲在纽约大学担任电脑中心主任。安泽和他的哥哥在美国梦中成长——他们的父母为追求更好的生活来到美国并鼓励他们实现自己的理想。安泽在布朗大学攻读政治及经济学并在哥伦比亚大学取得法律博士学位。

 

早期事业

在Davis Polk担任公司律师五个月后,安泽认为这一职业并不适合他。他离开了这家公司并成立了一家互联网公司,为非盈利组织筹集资金——就像许多第一批互联网公司一样,它并没有持续下去。安泽第一次创业失败时年仅26岁,仍欠法学院学贷10万美元——但这段经历给他留下了创业的乐趣。他随后加入了一家无线通讯软件公司,然后是一家早期的医疗保健创业公司,期间他同时为十几家医院提供服务,并从更有经验的企业家那里学习如何创立及管理企业。

 

创业史

Andrew Yang Techonomy

杨安泽参加于底特律举办的科技企业家峰会

31岁时,杨安泽成为了一个致力于高端教育的公司CEO。在安泽的领导下,该公司在全国范围内和国际上快速扩张,并获得了业界高度评价。不久之后,他的公司Manhattan Prep成为业内第一,并于2009年被一家上市公司收购。杨安泽担任该公司总裁直到2011年,期间他还遇到了他的妻子Evelyn并结婚。

 

为美国创业(Venture for America)

在夫人Evelyn的支持下,杨安泽出资为受金融危机冲击的城市创造就业机会。那时他意识到了创业对促进经济增长的巨大力量。他成立了为美国创业(Venture for America),旨于帮助企业家在美国国内创造就业机会。在第一年VFA基金会培训了40名成员;截至2017年,超过500名VFA成员已经成立了数十家公司,并在全国创造了2500多个工作岗位。为了表彰他和VFA的贡献,奥巴马于2012年将杨安泽评选为变革的顶尖人物,并任命他为2015年总统全球企业家大使。

 

全民基本收入

Andrew-Yang-Walks

当杨安泽在全国各地与几十个有VFA的城市旅行时,他亲眼看到新的就业机会不足以弥补自动化技术进步带来的失业。 自动化技术已经剥夺了400多万个就业机会,三分之一人口就业正在遭受威胁,而目前从政的人员并没有为美国有史以来最大的科技、经济变化做好准备。

安泽意识到这个问题的严重性后知道他必须采取行动。现在,已为人父的安泽正在通过竞选,努力为我们国家的孩子创造更好的未来。杨安泽的平台 致力于创建自由、平等、富强的美国社会,让我们的未来免于恐慌和绝望。而这一切都将始于无条件的全民基本收入政策。

请观看他的竞选宣言 并加入我们共同为“人类至上”而奋斗。

捐款表在此

Andrew Yang & President Barack Obama

Meet Andrew

Andrew Yang Keynotes 2020

I’m Andrew Yang, and I’m running for President as a Democrat in 2020 because I fear for the future of our country. New technologies – robots, software, artificial intelligence – have already destroyed more than 4 million US jobs, and in the next 5-10 years, they will eliminate millions more. A third of all American workers are at risk of permanent unemployment. And this time, the jobs will not come back.  

I’m not a career politician—I’m an entrepreneur who understands the economy. It’s clear to me, and to many of the nation’s best job creators, that we need to make an unprecedented change, and we need to make it now. But the establishment isn’t willing to take the necessary bold steps. As president, my first priority will be to implement Universal Basic Income for every American adult between the ages of 18 and 64: $1,000 a month, no strings attached, paid for by a new tax on the companies benefiting most from automation. UBI is just the beginning. A crisis is underway—we have to work together to stop it, or risk losing the heart of our country. The stakes have never been higher.  

I was born in upstate New York in 1975. My parents immigrated from Taiwan in the 1960s and met in grad school. My Dad was a researcher at IBM—he generated 69 patents over his career—and my Mom was the systems administrator at a local university. My brother and I grew up pretty nerdy. We also grew up believing in the American Dream—it’s why my parents came here.

Andrew-Yang-Family

I studied economics and political science at Brown and went to law school at Columbia. After a brief stint as a corporate lawyer, I realized it wasn’t for me. I launched a small company in the early days of the internet that didn’t work out, and then worked for a healthcare startup, where I learned how to build a business from more experienced entrepreneurs. In my thirties, I ran a national education company that grew to become #1 in the country. I also met my wife, Evelyn, and got married. My education company was acquired, and with Evelyn’s support, I decided to take my earnings and committed myself to creating jobs in cities hit hard by the financial crisis. By that time I understood the power of entrepreneurship to generate economic growth, so I founded Venture for America, an organization that helps entrepreneurs create jobs in cities like Baltimore, Detroit, Pittsburgh, and Cleveland.

VFA resonates with so many people because it’s clear there’s a growing problem in the U.S.: automation is destroying jobs and entire regions are being left behind. For years I believed new business formation was the answer—if we could train a new generation of entrepreneurs and create the right jobs in the right places, we could stop the downward spiral of growing income inequality, poverty, unemployment, and hopelessness. VFA created jobs by the thousands and continues to do amazing work across the country. But along the way, it became clear to me that job creation will not outpace the massive impending job loss due to automation. Those days are simply over.

Once I understood the magnitude of this problem, and that even our most forward-thinking politicians were not going to take the steps necessary to stem the tide, I had no choice but to act. I’m the father of two young boys. I know the country my sons will grow up in is going to be very different than the one I grew up in, and I want to look back at my life knowing I did everything in my power to create the kind of future our children deserve—an America of opportunity, freedom, equality, and abundance.

I urge you to join me. No one else is going to build a better world for us. We’re going to have to do it ourselves. Together.

— Andrew

AndrewYang Signature 2018

Learn About Andrew's Story

Intro

Andrew Yang is an entrepreneur and author running for President as a Democrat in 2020. In 2011 he founded Venture for America, a national entrepreneurship fellowship, and spent the last 6 years creating jobs in cities like Cleveland, Detroit, Baltimore, and Pittsburgh. When Andrew realized that new technology like artificial intelligence threatened to eliminate one-third of all American jobs, he knew he had to do something. In The War on Normal People (2018), he explains the mounting crisis and makes the case for implementing a universal basic income: $1,000 a month for every American adult, no strings attached.

Early Life

 

Andrew-Yang-Family

Andrew was born in upstate New York in 1975. His parents immigrated from Taiwan in the ‘60s and met while in grad school at Berkeley. His father was a researcher at IBM and General Electric, generating 69 patents over his career, and his mother was the systems administrator at a local university. Andrew and his brother grew up believing in the American dream—their parents immigrated for a better life, chased every opportunity America had to offer, and taught their sons to do the same. Andrew studied economics and political science at Brown University, then earned a JD at Columbia Law School.

Early Career

After five months as a corporate lawyer at Davis Polk, Andrew realized it wasn’t the path for him. He left the firm and founded an internet company that raised money for non-profits—like many of the first dot-com businesses, it didn’t last. When Andrew shut down his first company he was just 26 and still owed $100k in law school debt—but the experience gave him a taste for building things. He joined a wireless software company and then an early stage healthcare startup, where he learned how to build a business from more experienced entrepreneurs while working in a dozen hospitals.  

Exec Years

Andrew Yang Techonomy

Andrew Yang attends Techonomy entrepreneurship conference in Detroit.

At 31, Andrew became CEO of a boutique education company. Under Andrew, the company expanded nationwide and internationally, and earned the highest ratings in the industry. Soon, Manhattan Prep became #1 in the country, leading to its acquisition by a publicly traded company in 2009. Andrew stayed on as President of the company until 2011. During these years, he also met his wife, Evelyn, and got married.

VFA

With Evelyn’s support, Andrew took his earnings from the sale of the company and committed himself to creating jobs in cities hit hard by the financial crisis. By that time he understood the power of entrepreneurship to generate economic growth, so he founded Venture for America, an organization that helps entrepreneurs create opportunities nationwide. In its first year, VFA trained 40 Fellows; by 2017, more than 500 VFA Fellows and alumni have launched dozens of companies and helped create over 2,500 jobs across the country. In recognition for his work with VFA, the Obama White House named Andrew a Champion of Change in 2012, and a Presidential Ambassador for Global Entrepreneurship in 2015.

UBI

Andrew-Yang-Walks

As Andrew traveled around the country to dozens of cities with VFA, he saw firsthand that new job creation could no longer outpace the job loss that technological advances like automation have continued to bring. Four million jobs have been permanently lost to automation, one-third of American jobs are currently at risk, and no one working in politics today is willing to do what it takes to prepare America for the greatest technological and economic shift the country has ever seen.

Once Andrew understood the magnitude of this problem, he knew he had to act. Now the father of two young boys, Andrew’s campaign is working to create the kind of country all of our children deserve. Instead of the future we’re heading towards—one of scarcity, fear, and despair—Andrew’s platform is designed to create an America of opportunity, freedom, equality, and abundance. It all begins with a Universal Basic Income for all American adults, no strings attached.

Watch his campaign announcement and join him in the fight to put humanity first.

Donate here.